Privilege sucks!

I want to touch on white male privilege as in the fantasy hope I have that those who have it will take a compassionate stance to those who don’t. The catalyst for this is in part the words said to City reporter Shauna Hunt posted to YouTube on 12 May 2015, and part a brother I divorced for like thoughts. A white male myself, I have chosen and continuously choose a path of empathy for those without this privilege.

I used to get riled and ridiculed by constantly by women who thought of me as someone less than perhaps because I wasn’t after them like everyone else was, and they thought something was wrong with me. I discovered that I wanted a woman with the same birth sign because I have one brother with the same who is really cool, and one with a different sign mentioned below. Wanting a date with the saame sign meant acting completely different than the average men these women were used to. They were used to those showing privilege.

The ability called compassion is to view the world through the eyes of others. Those without privilege know that it is easy to do even drunk out of our minds if we practice it daily. On too many occasions white males can let our obnoxious behaviour and comments fly as free as a bird because nobody cares, or that’s what we are led to believe.

The CBC stated that one of the men was dismissed from a six figure salary position for the vulgar comments made. Far too often we get away with like comments and behaviour. Not much happens to a man, or group of men whistling at, making cat-calls to, or using derogatory language or having such thoughts to a woman, a person of colour, or other. We get away with it because we do it in the shadows. She brought this creep from the shadows – where no one could see – and made it a focal issue. It’s a great day for public shaming, shining a light in the dark spaces

The family member that I spoke of at the top also ridiculed me constantly until I had enough. I was as sick and tired of the brush he was painting me with that I took the political power I had and merely told him ‘good bye’. This was 2007 and currently continues.

I can’t stand privilege! I may have written a week or so ago that I started boycotting the IGA because a white female cashier gave me privilege over a First Nations man. Living in a neighbourhood next to a reserve, I have known the man far longer than this grocer has been around. I was quite content in letting this man ahead of me in the line. In my stupidity, said cashier ushered me ahead of him, putting him in a mild fit of rage – all he wanted was to pay for what he had and leave.

Privilege sucks because it places an incredible hardship on those who don’t have it, who it is almost used against. It lurks, and probably thrives, in the shadows. Perhaps if we shine a bright light on it, it will disappear. Regardless, if it does, I will never forget the game my brother played with me and his use of privilege. We ought to realise that we have it, and compassionately offer it to those without it.

The video is linked here:

Friday, 21 August 2015

At nearly this time at the Grandville Waterfront Station I was on my way to the Seabus when witnessing a white woman in her early 20s shoo away a poor black woman in her 50s after the latter, I assume, asked the former for some spare change. After seeing this, I walked up to the former and demanded that she check her privilege before chasing down the black woman to give her two dollars. After this act I turned to a second woman who witnessed my giving change who really liked what she saw to mention about the first white-woman’s response, my response to her, and we parted. I cursed and was very pissed off at white-privilege and the image of first woman during my trek to the Seabus.

Life is tough enough on people; why do people have to be so blatantly ignorant to treat those with less as bothersome? Why is it that we can’t each be kind enough to give but a quarter each time we’re asked by the less fortunate for spare change? And if we can’t, how much does it really cost to treat those with less with the respect and dignity that we give to others, like bosses or police officers?

Leave a Reply

